

Minutes of the Marketing Educators' Association Board Meeting April 19, 2002

Catamaran Resort, San Diego, California

Prepared by John A. Schibrowsky

Attendees

Stuart Van Auken, Florida Gulf Coast University Regina, Schlee, Seattle Pacific University Katrin Harich, CSU-Fullerton Beverlee Anderson, CSU- San Marcos John Schibrowsky, UNLV Steve Achtenhagen, San Jose State University Ed Martinez, New Era University, Philippines Michael Mejza, UNLV Rodelon del Mundo, De La Salle University, Philippines Dennis Flynn, CWU Craig Kelley, CSU-Sacramento Nathan D. Kling, University of Northern Colorado Dolores Barsellotti, Cal Poly Pomona Deborah Cours, CSU-Northridge Larry Couture, Olds College Robert Lupton, Central Washington University Brian Jorgensen, Westminster College Bernice Dandridge, Diablo Valley College H. Rika Houston, CSU-Los Angeles Chuck Harrington, PCC-Pasadena Richard Scott, University of Arizona Linda Rochford, University of Minnesota, Duluth Steven Pharr, University of Idaho Maria Victoria S. Abergos, Adamson University, Philippines Mary Curran, CSU-Northridge Douglas Lincoln, Boise State University

Minutes:

Meeting was called to order at 2:00 pm.

The agenda was approved.

The minutes from the 2001 meeting were approved with minor changes.

2001 Conference Reports

- 1. A total of 35 competitive paper reviewers were thanked
- 2. A total of 15 Session Chairs were thanked.
- 3. A total of 36 discussants were thanked.
- 4. A total of approximately 140 people made presentations at the conference.
- 5. A total of 42 papers were accepted.
- 6. A total of 13 special sessions were accepted.
- 7. A total of 10 Roundtables were accepted.
- 8. A total of 175 copies of the proceedings were printed at an approximate cost of \$1,500.
- 9. It was announced that the best paper award would be presented to: Phillip Trocchia and David Andrus of Kansas State University for their paper, "Faculty Perceptions of a Successful Department Chair."
- 10. It was announced that Bruce Lammers would be awarded the Marketing Educators' Association Marketing Educator of the Year Award.

Conference Fundraising totaled \$9,900 from the following sources:

Sponsors

- Direct Selling Foundation Saturday Breakfast \$500
- Florida Gulf Coast University Canvass Bag \$200
- Journal of Marketing Education Awards Dinner \$500
- Mc Graw-Hill/Irwin Marketing Educator of the Year \$1,000
- Sage Publications JME Paper of the Year Award \$25
- San Diego State University President's Reception \$750
- University of San Diego School of Business President's Reception \$750
- XanEdu Birch Aquarium Event \$750

Exhibitors

- Mc Graw-Hill/Irwin \$750
- South Western, Thomson Learning -\$750
- Prentice Hall \$750
- XanEdu -\$750

Advertisers

- Mc Graw-Hill/Irwin \$850
- South Western, Thomson Learning -\$850
- Prentice Hall \$850

The XanEdu relationship was discussed. Future joint ventures that benefit the organization were discussed and it was decided to pursue new streams of revenues. Stuart Van Auken was applauded for his fund raising efforts.

The Bylaws Subcommittee consisting of Mike Mejza, Steven Pharr, and Linda Rochford reported on the changes needed to bring our bylaws into compliance with our national organization status. Changes in the regions and terms of the officers were discussed, motioned and approved. In addition, a wording change in section 4 VESTED FUND was motioned to omit the words, "plus accumulated interest," and to changed the words from "shall be used," to "may be used." The motion passed.

Robert Lupton, Cental Washington University was announced as the new Treasurer Secretary

Beverlee Anderson, CSU- San Marcos, was nominated for the position of Vice-President

A number of new regional directors were discussed but it was decided that no names would be nominated until the individuals were personally contacted. Nominations were to be finalized by the business meeting on Saturday.

At the business lunch on Saturday, April 20, 2002, the following names were added to the list of regional directors:

• Southern Region: David Kurtz

Central: Linda RochfordEastern: Chuck Comegys

• At Large: Steven Pharr, Rajiv Vaidyanathan, and Ken Chapman

The Philippine accord was approved and signed. It was commemorated with a picture taking ceremony.

Recruiting issues were discussed. Marketing Director Craig Kelley outlined past and future activities.

Douglas Lincoln reported on the status of the Journal of Marketing Education. Included in the report were marketing activities, special issues, electronic access to the journal and electronic submission issues. During 2001, a total of 63 manuscripts were received. The acceptance rate was calculated to be 8.5%. The possibility of increasing the publication of the Journal from three to four issues per year was briefly discussed.

Several New Business items were discussed:

- 1. Workshops: Beverlee Anderson and John Schibrowsky volunteered to explore the possibility of offering Workshops at future MEA conferences.
- 2. A subcommittee was formed to develop a set of Vision Statements for MEA. Nathan Kling and Debra Coors volunteered to be on the subcommittee.
- 3. Chuck Harrington and Steve Pharr volunteered to assist Craig Kelley in the Marketing subcommittee.
- 4. Steven Actenhagen was nominated to chair the Recruiting subcommittee.

Finally it was announced by Regina Schlee that the 2003 MEA conference would take place at the Radisson Resort and Spa in Scottsdale Arizona, on April 10-12.

Meeting Adjourned